Who will be sportspeople of the year?

Narrabri Shire Sports Awards are just around the corner....

ABC cricket commentator Jim Maxwell will provide some insightful and colourful knowledge on modern sport and Australia's dismal efforts in the recent Ashes tour.

Nominations for the Narrabri Shire Sportsperson of the Year Awards will close on Monday, September 21.

Chair of the Lord’s Taverners organising committee for the Sportsperson awards, and a founder of the local Lord’s Taverners, Mrs Kath Hamilton, urged parents, friends and team mates to lodge a nomination or contact her with the name of someone they think should be a nominee.

Phone Kath on 0428 652 124, or Ian McGregor, 0417 247 868 or The Courier sports journalist Michael Hutchison, 6792 1011.
Nomination forms are available at McDonald’s restaurant Narrabri, Wee Waa and Boggabri newsagencies, Longies Sportspower and The Courier in Narrabri.

The winners of the Sportsperson of the Year awards will be announced at the 2015 Narrabri Shire Sportsperson of the Year Awards dinner at Narrabri RSL Club on Saturday, September 26.

Bookings can be made at the RSL Club. Tickets are $42 per head.

Nominations are invited for sportspeople in a range of categories including for the first time an under 12 years of age category.

The categories are: Sub-Junior Male, Sub-Junior Female, Junior Male, Junior Female, Senior Male, Senior Female and Narrabri Shire Sportsperson of the Year as well as the People’s Choice award.

So who is in the running

There has been a steady flow of nominations for the 2015 Narrabri Shire Sportsperson of the Year Awards in the last few days, with not everyone listed here:

Nominations will be received until 10am on Monday.

Sub junior female: Luana Smith.
Sub junior male: Brinez Dawson Lantz, Daly Robert Guest, Dylan Smith, Zac Doring.
Junior female: Chelsea Johnson.
Junior male: Connor Richardson, Ryan Meppem, Nicholas Tomlinson, Zachary Hobden.
Senior female: Sarah Jane Schulze, Beverley Ryan, Angela Young.
Senior Male: Daniel Hughes, Lachlan Cameron, Matt Schwager.

Sponsors for the 2015 Narrabri Shire Sportsperson of the Year Awards are CSD, McDonald’s Restaurant, Namoi Cotton, Narrabri RSL Club, Max Orman, Darrell Tiemens Advertising, Gray Nicols, Kingsgrove sports, Skins Australia, Sportspower Narrabri, Toyworld Narrabri, Shoex Narrabri, Anytime Fitness Narrabri, Les Knox, Mid Town Inn, Phillip Lockyer (Kaputar Motel) and The Courier.

The Sportsperson of the Year Awards Dinner will be held at Narrabri RSL Club on Saturday, September 26.

People planning to go are urged to make their bookings as soon as possible to assist with catering.

Tickets are available at Narrabri RSL Club.

Guest speaker for the event will be ABC television and radio sports commentator Mr Jim Maxwell.

The Sportsperson Awards are organised by the Lord’s Taverners.