Boggabri Golf Club wins Burke Shield

And more success with Milton Scaysbrook awarded zone medal

A very proud and excited Milton Scaysbrook holding the Burke Shield and his Golf NSW Central North District zone medal.

The prestigious Central Northern Zone’s Burke Shield has been won by Boggabri Golf Club.

Central Northern Zone members include golf clubs from Narrabri, Boggabri, Gunnedah, Werris Creek, Quirindi, Spring Ridge, Long Yard, Tamworth City, Manilla, Barraba and Nundle.

The shield was first presented in 1981.

Since then the Boggabri club has won it seven times - in 1986, 1988, 1989, 1992, 2010, 2014 and 2018.

All clubs nominate a team of three at each of the eleven open days and the aggregate score determines the winner.

Boggabri only had four players to choose from for the three person team this year - Milton Scaysbrook, Les Gardoll, Geoff Harper and Ray Chandler.

Between 40 and 100 players participate in the open days so this was a mighty effort for the Boggabri team.

Scaysbrook also experienced individual success.

He won the Golf NSW Central North District Zone medal.

The best six rounds for the year determine the winner.

Scaysbrook won three rounds and was runner-up in two rounds.