Civeo secures second grade glory

Frantic finish sees Civeo get over the line

Narrabri District Cricket Association second grade grand final winners Civeo - back, Pat Mowle, Geoff Page, Steve Lubke, Matt Tubner, Jarrod Sevil, Brendan Jenkins, Matt O’Meara, Shaun Fogarty, front, Blake Ryan, Blake Hilderson, Kaleb Mowle, Cody Kember (holding Miranda Kember) and Trevor Dean.

Civeo survived a late scare to win the NDCA second grade T20 grand final on Saturday.

In a 2016-17 grand final rematch, Civeo took on defending champions Tatts.

Tatts batted first and made 9-127 from 20 overs.

Civeo chased that down from the last ball of the match in what was an exhilarating finish.

With two overs remaining, Civeo had reached 126 runs for the loss of four wickets.

With the chasing side needing just two to win from 12 balls the trophy looked set to be won by Civeo.

That became even more believable after the first ball of the Paul Norrie-bowled 19th over was a wide.

That saw Civeo move level with Tatts, needing just one for victory from 12 balls.

Norrie’s next six balls were all dots and included a wicket, which provided Tatts with some hope.

That hope turned into belief after the first five balls of the Guy Gleeson-bowled final over.

They were also dots, and also included a wicket.

That made the score 6-127, with the scores level with just one ball remaining.

Geoff Page faced the final delivery, which went through to Tatts wicketkeeper Michael Hewett.

A race between Civeo non-striker Shaun Fogarty to get to the crease and Hewett to run him out was on.

Hewett won that race, with Fogarty dismissed for a duck.

However, Gleeson had bowled a front foot no-ball, so while the wicket still stood Civeo won the match by three wickets.