Knox, Young and Bakhuis win the top prizes at awards night

RSL Sporting Body holds its annual awards night

Senior sportsperson winner Angie Knox, presented by Narrabri RSL Club president Bruce O’Hara.

The Narrabri RSL Sporting Body’s sports awards night was held on Friday night in the RSL Club Auditorium.

The annual event once again acknowledged the hard work of the Sporting Body itself, as well as those involved in each of the teams which the Sporting Body supports.

The award winners from the 2018 RSL Sporting Body awards are as follows:


11-years development squad: Best and fairest - Lara Sunderland, most improved - Lucinda Coffey.

RSL Babes: Most consistent - Emma Betts, players’ player - Shona Wallis.

State age 12s: Best and fairest - Ella Tomlinson, most improved - Georgia Stuart.

State age 13s: Best and fairest - Acacia Bell, most improved - Addi Russell.

State age 14s: Best and fairest - Ellie Fowler, most improved - Alex Hall.

State age 15s: Best and fairest - Megan Dampney and Emma Young, most improved - Maddi Russell.

Netball umpire’s award - Emma Young and Mae Harvey.

Netball C-Badge recipients - Mackenzie Russell and Emma Young.

Touch footy:

RSL Roulettes: most consistent - Alex Hall, players’ player - Angela Young.


First grade: Batting average - Mick Dowdell, batting aggregate - Mick Dowdell, bowling average - Jake Brayshaw, bowling aggregate - Jake Brayshaw, best and fairest - Mick Dowdell, players’ player - Nathan Trindall.

Second grade: Batting average - Mick Baylis, batting aggregate - Rod Tomlinson, bowling average and aggregate - Jason Trindall, best and fairest - Rod Tomlinson, players’ player - Mick Baylis.

Club awards: Club all-rounder - Jake Brayshaw, most improved junior cricketer - Jock Tomlinson, jug award - Zac and Jake Baylis, president’s award - Chris Watkins (first grade) and Matt Dunn (second grade), Ben Keefe memorial junior sportsman of the year - Hamish Duncan, Blue Banton senior cricketer of the year - Jake Brayshaw, clubman of the year - Craig O’Connor.

Junior sportsperson nominees:

Addi Russell (netball), Emma Young (touch footy), Hamish Duncan (cricket).

Junior sportsperson winner: Emma Young.

Senior sportsperson nominees:

Angie Knox (touch footy), Jake Brayshaw (cricket).

Senior sportsperson winner: Angie Knox.

Barry Stanford club person of the year nominees:

Kate Bakhuis (netball), Craig O’Connor (cricket).

Barry Stanford club person winner: Kate Bakhuis.

Subscribe below to see all of the presentation photos from the night.