RSL wins T20 Slog

What a start to the 2017-18 season for RSL Cricket Club

The RSL Cricket Club T20 Slog side which won Saturday night’s grand final against Civeo - back, Jarrett Tough, Jason Trindall, Andrew Irvine, Nathan Trindall, Rod Tomlinson, Jock Tomlinson, Chris Watkins, front, Mick Baylis, Mick Dowdell, Tyson Gilmore, Shane McKenzie and Zach Baylis. Absent - Shane Murphy.

Andrew Irvine starred for RSL Cricket Club on Saturday night, as he guided his side to victory in the inaugural Narrabri District Cricket Association Namoi T20 Super Slog.

RSL took on Civeo in the final, after the pair were the only two sides in the five-team tournament to win both of their matches ahead of the final.

Irvine opened the batting for RSL and scored a classy 48.

He then bowled four overs for his side and finished with figures of 0-29.

However, he took the ball for the final over, which saw Civeo needing 13 runs to win the final.

He produced a tidy over which went for just five runs.

That helped secure a seven-run win for RSL.

The sides went into the final both in good form.

And right from the start the match looked set to be a blockbuster.

In its previous two matches RSL won after batting first, while Civeo won its two matches after batting second.

So when RSL stand in skipper Mick Dowdell won the toss and elected to bat anticipation levels were certainly high.

Irvine opened the batting with Mick Dowdell, and the pair showed their class again, putting on a 67-run partnership in nine overs.