Tatts crowned 2017-18 T20 champs

Deja vu as Tatts beat Civeo by 63 runs

Narrabri District Cricket Association first grade grand final winners Tatts - back, Craig Gleeson, Tom Craig, Brock Schwager, Ryan O’Neill, Rod Kirk, Jakeb Nipperess, front, Jonty Schwager, Mitch Lawty, Daniel Kahl, Michael Cain and Brendon Ward. Absent from the photo is Luke Morgan.

The Tatts Cricket Club celebrated its third consecutive first grade T20 title after defeating Civeo by 63 runs on Saturday night.

Tatts batted first and made 6-141, before restricting the chasing side to 7-78.

The result was almost identical to Tatts’ 2016-17 T20 final win against the same opponents.

In that match Tatts batted first and made 7-148, and Civeo only made 86 in reply which saw Tatts win by 62 runs.

Saturday night’s victory was a clinical one for Tatts.

The side lost its first wicket in the fourth over of the innings, when Rod Kirk was caught for 17 from the bowling of Matt Potter.

That made the score 1-17, and saw Craig Gleeson partner Brendon Ward in the middle.

The pair put on a 62-run partnership which was not broken until the Gareth Lamond-bowled 14th over, when Gleeson was caught by Potter for 24.

The following over Luke Morgan was bowled by Jordyn Mowle for one, which made the score 3-99 after 15 overs.

In the final five overs Tatts scored 42 more runs for the loss of just three wickets.

In the 17th over skipper Tom Craig was bowled by Potter for three.

An over later opener Ward was finally dismissed, trapped LBW by Civeo skipper Nick Smart for a match-high 69.

Smart struck again with the final ball of the innings, bowling Daniel Kahl for nine.

Michael Cain remained unbeaten on 10 for Tatts.

Potter was Civeo’s best with the ball, taking 2-21 from four overs.

Smart was next best with 2-27 from four overs.

Civeo’s run chase began slowly.